Baylor Alumni
Cooperative Relationship
Current Officers
Current Goals
Alumni Spotlight
BBAC Photo Archive
Baylor Alumni


Baylor Black Alumni was chartered in 1985 by a group of alumni who saw a need to expand the Baylor black student experience beyond campus life.

The first president was Isaac Hardy, and the first deposit for the Scholarship Endowment was made on September 20, 1989.

The chapter was re-established in 1997 after a period of inactivity.

First Scholarship Luncheon: July 1998
Speaker: Michael Heiskell, first black law school graduate

Second Scholarship Luncheon: July 1999
Speaker: Joseph Parker, first black Truett Seminary graduate

Third Scholarship Luncheon: February 2000
Speaker: Thomas Everett, BU Hall of Famer, All-American, and retired NFL player

Fourth Scholarship Luncheon: February 2001
Speaker: Coach Grant Teaff, former Baylor University football coach

Fifth Scholarship Luncheon:
Speaker: Drayton McLane, chair and CEO of the Houston Astros

Sixth Scholarship Luncheon:
Santana Dotson, an eleven-year member of the NFL and currently a defensive tackle for the Green Bay Packers

Seventh Scholarship Luncheon:
Dr. Michael Bell, president of the Baptist General Convention of Texas

The scholarship was named after the first black professor at Baylor University, Dr. Vivenne Malone-Mayes, in February 2000. The scholarship was endowed on February 7, 2000. The first scholarship was awarded to Brian Harris in April 2001.

Baylor Alumni Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms & Conditions